Port of San Francisco
Adapted from Wikipedia · Adventurer experience
The Port of San Francisco is a special group that takes care of the waterfront in San Francisco, California, United States. It is led by five people chosen by the mayor and approved by the San Francisco Board of Supervisors.
The Port looks after a big area along the water, starting from where the Golden Gate Bridge is, going past the Marina district, around to Fisherman's Wharf and the Embarcadero, and down to near Candlestick Point.
The port sits on the west side of the San Francisco Bay close to the Golden Gate. It is known as one of the world's best natural harbors. Long ago, sailors from Spain and England found this place, which was first called Yerba Buena.
Today, the Port looks after almost eight miles of land and water, with many famous spots like Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, the Ferry Building, Oracle Park, and Pier 70 at Potrero Point. In 2015, the Port started a project to make sure the seawall near the bay is safe during earthquakes.
History
The first place people landed on the northeast tip of the San Francisco peninsula was a rocky spot below Telegraph Hill, later called Clarke's Point. It jutted into the San Francisco Bay near what is now Broadway and Battery Streets. Yerba Buena Cove stretched inland from Clarke's Point to Montgomery Street and further to Rincon Point near the south of Market area.
Early leaders of Mission Dolores and other missions used Clarke's Point for trading hides and tallow. Russian ships also stopped there to load meat and grain. British and French ships visited in the 1800s, and in 1840, the sloop USS St. Louis became the first American warship to fly the U.S. flag in San Francisco Bay. In 1846, the sloop USS Portsmouth saluted and raised the American flag at what became Portsmouth Square.
San Francisco started as Yerba Buena town in 1835 under Mexican rule. Before that, Monterey was California's official port. Captain Richardson built the first European home overlooking the Bay and became the first harbor master. Whalers protested taxes and moved to the Hawaiian Islands.
In 1846, Commodore John D. Sloat claimed California for the United States, followed by Captain John B. Montgomery. In 1847, the town was renamed San Francisco. The U.S. government allowed San Francisco to sell land underwater to raise money. Wharves were built, and the city grew.
Gold was discovered in California, bringing many ships. Some old ships were beached and became parts of the city. By 1853, a larger wharf was built. Over time, the state helped San Francisco build more wharves and manage the waterfront.
When gold was found, many ships came to California. Some old ships were left on the beach and became part of the city. In 1853, a larger wharf was built. Laws were passed to help the city build more wharves. Fights over who could use the water and land began. A big wharf called the Central Wharf was built in 1849. By 1851, it was very busy, and many new wharves were built. The city grew on filled land, and fires were a problem. By 1857, the waterfront had many old ships and weak piers.
Two wharves at Taylor Street, McMahon's and Meiggs Wharves, were important. Meiggs Wharf later became a stop for ferries to Sausalito.
Merchant's Dock repaired ships near present-day Kearney and Bay Streets. It later moved to Hunter's Point. North Point Dock, built in 1853, became a place for ships from Italy and France. Many private wharves lined the north waterfront. Most disappeared when modern piers were built.
Fighting over land and rights was very big. A state board was created to manage the waterfront separately from the city.
Until the 1860s, boats could bring supplies up Mission Creek near Mission Dolores.
California Board of State Harbor Commissioners
In 1863, California law created the California Board of State Harbor Commissioners to build a Seawall on San Francisco's waterfront. The Seawall would replace older, uneven edges with a clean line along the modern Embarcadero. After years of legal fights, they offered a prize for the best Seawall plan. Engineers designed a curved waterfront.
They dug a wide trench in the mudflats and filled it with rocks to make a strong base. Concrete and masonry walls were built, and the area behind was filled to make land. It took many years to get rights to private wharves.
The first transcontinental railroad opened in 1869, reducing ship traffic. By 1871, the board had most wharves except some on Channel Street. In 1881, they started building the Seawall, which took 50 years to finish. In 1929, state bonds were approved to improve San Francisco Harbor. In 1937, the board was renamed, and in 1957, it became the San Francisco Port Authority. In 1968, control moved to the City and County of San Francisco, and the Port Commission of the City and County of San Francisco took over.
Filling the downtown district
Steam machines broke down sand dunes and hills, including Telegraph Hill. Rock was brought from Brooks Island. Trains carried fill to the mudflats. The Ferry Building and Southern Pacific Building were built on deep wooden supports.
Belt Railroad
Main article: San Francisco Belt Railroad
In 1890, port leaders started building switchyards and warehouses on filled land for the San Francisco Belt Railroad. This railroad, over 50 miles long, connected every dock and pier to factories and national railways. In 1912, it crossed Market Street to link the waterfront with railways north, south, and across the country. After the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake, much of the railroad was replaced with streetcar tracks for the San Francisco Municipal Railway.
Embarcadero
Main article: Embarcadero (San Francisco)
The Embarcadero is San Francisco's eastern waterfront, built on a Seawall and filled land. The city's shoreline once ran from Clarke's Point to Montgomery Street and enclosed Yerba Buena Cove. Over 50 years, a Seawall was built, and the cove was filled, creating the Financial District. The roadway was finished in the 1920s and added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2002.
History of the Embarcadero Seawall
Built between 1879 and 1916, the Embarcadero Seawall was made by digging a trench, filling it with rock, and adding wooden walls. Over 500 acres of land were filled behind it, extending the city. The Seawall holds back the filled land and supports the Embarcadero Historic District.
After the Seawall, the port built new piers. By 1908, 23 new piers were done. In 1922, 14.5 million tons of goods passed through the port. The Ferry Building became the Harbor Commission's headquarters in 1898.
Modern developments
See also: Piers in San Francisco
Building a great port needed strong support. The people in charge worked hard for many years with help from the state of California. They built important parts like the Embarcadero, Seawall, and piers. They also built railroads and bought land using money from the port’s busy work.
After a big fire in 1906, the port started to grow again. In 1909, new rules were made to help improve the port. They used money from the state to buy land and build more places for ships. By the 1920s, the port became very valuable, and many goods moved through it each year.
In the 1920s and 1930s, many old piers were replaced with newer, stronger ones. The port also built big warehouses and plants for different kinds of work.
Cargo terminals
With new ways to load ships and not much space, Oakland became the main port in the area in the 1960s. San Francisco tried to keep some cargo work at special places like Pier 80.
Ship repair
There is a place at Pier 70 where ships can get fixed and repaired.
Fisherman's Wharf
Main article: Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf is famous for its history with Italian fishermen who came to San Francisco during the gold rush. They caught fish and crabs and sold them. Even today, many fishermen still work there, though it is also a popular tourist spot.
Pier 39
Main article: Pier 39
Pier 39 opened in 1978. It has shops, restaurants, street performances, and places to see sea lions. There is also a carousel and a restaurant on a floating island.
Ferry Building
Main article: San Francisco Ferry Building
The Ferry Building was built for less than one million dollars and became very successful. After an earthquake in 1906, it survived and was used by many people and cars. In 2003, it was fixed up and now has a market, ferry services, and offices. Ferries go to places like Oakland and Vallejo.
Central Embarcadero Piers Historic District
Main article: Central Embarcadero Piers Historic District
The Central Embarcadero Piers Historic District includes Piers 1, 1+1⁄2, 3 and 5. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2002.
Historic streetcars
Main article: F Market & Wharves
The F Market & Wharves line is a special streetcar service that uses old cars from San Francisco and other cities. It started going to Fisherman’s Wharf in 2000.
Main article: E Embarcadero
The E Embarcadero is another streetcar line that started in 2016. It goes along the Embarcadero and will be extended to Fort Mason.
Exploratorium
Main article: Exploratorium
The Exploratorium is a science and art museum. In 2013, it moved to Piers 15 and 17 along The Embarcadero.
Cruise Terminal
The new Cruise Terminal at Pier 27 opened in 2014. It has better places for ships and passengers. The port expects more cruise ships and passengers in the future.
Oracle Park
Main article: Oracle Park
Oracle Park is a baseball stadium where the San Francisco Giants play. It is located near San Francisco Bay and the Giants rent the land from the port.
Embarcadero Seawall Program
The port of San Francisco started a program to make the Embarcadero Seawall safer and stronger. This will help protect the area from floods and prepare for future changes in sea levels. The project will cost a lot of money and take many years to finish.
Future developments
Pier 70
Main article: Pier 70, San Francisco, California
The Port of San Francisco owns a large area at Pier 70, San Francisco, California in the Potrero Point district. This area has some of the best old factories and shipyards from the 1800s in the western United States. Big companies like the Union Iron Works and Bethlehem Shipbuilding used to build ships there. Today, BAE Systems Ship Repair and the Sims Group work at this location.
Recently, there was a discussion about plans to restart ship repair work at Pier 70.
Cancelled developments
Warriors Arena
Main article: Chase Center (arena)
The Golden State Warriors wanted to build a new arena at Piers 30–32 near the Bay Bridge in 2012. They hoped to finish it by 2017–18. But in 2014, they decided to buy land in the Mission Bay neighborhood instead.
USS Iowa
In 2006, the US Navy asked San Francisco to keep the retired USS Iowa at Fisherman's Wharf as a museum. The city's leaders did not agree to this. Later, in 2012, the ship opened as a museum at the Port of Los Angeles.
Chelsea Piers
In 2001, the Port planned to change Piers 27, 29, and 31 into a sports and entertainment place managed by the Chelsea Piers. But these plans were stopped. Now, Piers 27 and 29 are used as a Cruise Terminal.
Images
Related articles
This article is a child-friendly adaptation of the Wikipedia article on Port of San Francisco, available under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Images from Wikimedia Commons. Tap any image to view credits and license.
Safekipedia