Safekipedia

Brooklyn Bridge

Adapted from Wikipedia · Adventurer experience

A beautiful view of the Brooklyn Bridge from Manhattan, showing the iconic bridge spanning the water under a clear blue sky.

The Brooklyn Bridge is a famous cable-stayed suspension bridge in New York City. It connects the boroughs of Manhattan and Brooklyn across the East River.

When it opened on May 24, 1883, it was the first bridge to cross the East River and the longest suspension bridge in the world at that time.

The bridge was designed by John A. Roebling, with important help from his son Washington Roebling and his wife, engineer Emily Warren Roebling. Building the bridge took over thirteen years, starting in 1870, and had many challenges because of its new design.

Today, the Brooklyn Bridge is a major tourist attraction and an important symbol of New York City. It is also recognized as a National Historic Landmark, a New York City landmark, and a National Historic Civil Engineering Landmark. Only cars, pedestrians, and cyclists are allowed to use the bridge now.

Description

The Brooklyn Bridge is a special bridge in New York City. It connects Manhattan and Brooklyn by crossing the East River. When it opened in 1883, it was the first bridge to cross the East River and the longest suspension bridge in the world at that time.

The bridge uses a mix of designs, including cable-stayed and suspension parts. Its stone towers have pointed arches, giving it a unique look. The bridge has long paths on both sides for people to walk or bike across. It also has a special path in the middle for pedestrians. The bridge’s main part is very strong and can hold a lot of weight. Over the years, the bridge has been updated to stay safe and beautiful.

History

Planning

Ideas for a bridge between Brooklyn and New York City date back to 1800. Back then, the only way to travel between the two cities was by ferry. Engineers suggested different designs, but none were built because it was too hard to make a bridge high enough across the busy East River. There were also ideas for tunnels under the river, but these were thought to be too expensive.

In 1857, a German engineer named John Augustus Roebling proposed building a suspension bridge over the East River. He had built shorter bridges before. In 1867, Roebling built another suspension bridge over the Ohio River.

In February 1867, New York State allowed the building of a suspension bridge from Brooklyn to Manhattan. Two months later, a company called the New York and Brooklyn Bridge Company was created to build it, first called the New York and Brooklyn Bridge. It was also called the “Brooklyn Bridge,” starting from a letter to the editor in January 1867. The cities of New York (now Manhattan) and Brooklyn were allowed to invest $5 million in capital stock to pay for the bridge.

Roebling was made the chief engineer. By September 1867, he had a plan for a bridge longer and taller than any before. It would have roads and train tracks, and a walking path. People thought it would change the cities as much as the Suez Canal, the transatlantic telegraph cable, or the first transcontinental railroad. But by 1869, some people said the bridge was too expensive or too hard to build.

Roebling showed his bridge designs to engineers and Congress in March 1869. In April, he and engineers checked the river. In June 1869, while checking, Roebling hurt his foot in an accident and later died from an infection. His son, Washington Roebling, took over. Tammany Hall leader William M. Tweed also helped because he owned land in New York City and wanted the bridge built. The company was overseen by Tammany Hall, and they approved Roebling’s plans.

Construction

Caissons

Building the Brooklyn Bridge started on January 2, 1870. The first step was to build two caissons, strong boxes under the water, where the bridge towers would stand. The Brooklyn caisson was built at a shipyard in Greenpoint, Brooklyn, and put in the river on March 19, 1870. Workers dug down to the bedrock under pressure, then filled the caisson with concrete. But large rocks under the river made it hard, and a fire delayed work. By March 6, 1871, the caisson reached its depth and was filled with concrete. Many workers helped, but only a few were hurt by decompression sickness.

The Manhattan caisson was built next, with fireproof metal to avoid fire. It was put in place in September 1871. Because of deep water and high pressure, many workers got sick with decompression sickness, later called “caisson disease.” Between January and May 1872, a doctor treated 110 cases, and three workers died. Construction stopped when the bedrock was found deeper than expected. Work continued when the ground was firm enough.

Washington Roebling got sick from caisson disease and could not watch the work. His wife, Emily Warren Roebling, helped by sending messages between her husband and the engineers. She knew about mathematics, catenary curves, materials, and bridge building. She helped for 11 years, doing many of the chief engineer’s jobs.

Towers

After the caissons were done, piers were built on top for the tower walls. Building the towers took four years and was very complicated. Heavy blocks were moved to the tower bases using a pulley system with a steel rope, then lifted up using a derrick. The blocks sometimes shook the ropes, but only once did one fall.

Construction of the towers started in mid-1872. By late 1872, parts of each tower were built. By mid-1873, more progress was made. The Brooklyn tower reached 164 feet above water in August 1874 and was mostly done by December 1874. The last stone was placed in June 1875, and the Manhattan tower was done in July 1876. The towers were taller than any building in the city until 1890.

In 1875, the project ran out of its $5 million budget. Two bridge commissioners asked for another $8 million, and the state agreed if the cities bought the stock of private investors.

Work also started on the anchorages, one on each side. The Brooklyn anchorage began in January 1873 and was mostly done by August 1875. The Manhattan anchorage started in May 1875 and was mostly done by July 1876. The anchorages would be finished when the main cables were put in place.

Cables

On August 15, 1876, the first temporary wire was stretched between the towers using chrome steel from the Chrome Steel Company of Brooklyn. The wire was used to make a temporary footbridge for workers. A second wire was stretched by August 30, and the footbridge was done in February 1877.

By December 1876, a contract for the permanent cables had not been signed. There was debate about using Bessemer steel or crucible steel. In the end, crucible steel was chosen. In January 1877, a contract was given to J. Lloyd Haigh.

The wires for the cables were made into large coils, dipped in linseed oil, and joined into single wires. The first wire for the main cables was stretched on May 29, 1877, and spinning began soon after. By July, all four main cables were being spun. A temporary footbridge was open to visitors until September after one visitor had a health issue and almost fell.

While the cables were being spun, buildings were removed to make space for the bridge’s roads. By May 1878, the main cables were more than two-thirds done. In June 1878, a wire slipped and two people were hurt. In 1877, a letter warned against using Bessemer steel. Haigh used lower-quality wire, earning $300,000 unfairly. The bridge was made weaker but still safe, and extra wires were added. Haigh was made to pay for the extra wire, but not fired.

Nearing completion

A painting of the bridge from 1883

Similar view, 2023

After the suspender wires were placed, workers started building the roadway. Construction began in March 1879, but there was debate about using Bessemer or crucible steel for the superstructure. In July, a contract was signed for Bessemer steel to be delivered by 1880. But by November 1881, the steel had not arrived. The mayor of Brooklyn, Seth Low, investigated and found problems.

Roebling did not attend a meeting in June 1882 and was criticized, though some trustees supported him. Reports on the bridge’s progress were given each month. By early 1883, the bridge was nearly done and set to open in June. Contracts for lighting were signed in February 1883, and tolls were approved in March.

Opposition

Some shipbuilders and merchants did not want the bridge because they thought it would block ships. In May 1876, they sued. In 1879, a committee looked into the bridge. In 1883, the Supreme Court said the bridge was legal.

Opening

The bridge opened on May 24, 1883, the first fixed crossing between Manhattan and Long Island. Thousands attended, and ships were on the river. Emily Warren Roebling was the first to cross. President Chester A. Arthur and mayor Franklin Edson also crossed, and Abram Hewitt gave a speech.

Though Washington Roebling could not attend, he had a celebration at home. There was a band, gunshots from ships, and fireworks. On the first day, 1,800 vehicles and 150,300 people crossed. Soon after, ferry use dropped, but ferries ran until 1942.

The bridge cost $15.5 million in 1883 (about $518,304,000 today), paid mostly by Brooklyn. The bonds were paid off in 1956. About 27 men died during construction. It was called the East River Bridge until the Williamsburg Bridge opened in 1903. It was the longest suspension bridge in the world until 1903.

The bridge was not fully done when it opened. Six days later, a stampede happened when a woman fell, and twelve people were hurt. The company added phones and railings and planned fireproofing. Public transit started on September 25, 1883. On May 17, 1884, P. T. Barnum’s elephant Jumbo led a parade of elephants over the bridge, showing it was strong.

1880s to 1900s

View in 1899

Brooklyn side approach, about 1899

Manhattan side, about 1899

Manhattan entrance, about 1911

Use of the bridge grew after it opened. A million people paid to cross in the first six months. In 1884, 8.5 million people crossed; in 1885, 17 million; and in 1889, 34 million. Many were on cable cars. By 1892, about 4.5 million walked for free each year.

In 1885, a woman suggested adding elevators and an observatory and charging fees to help pay for the bridge and her charity. It was considered but not done. Other ideas came in the first fifty years. Trolley tracks were added in 1898. That year, Brooklyn became part of New York City, and the bridge was controlled by the city. Walking traffic dropped after trolleys started.

In 1898, a traffic jam caused a part of the bridge to bend. In 1901, twelve cables came loose, but no other problems were found. Five inspectors were hired to check the bridge each day. In 1905, the company said the bridge could carry no more trains.

By 1890, there were plans for more bridges across the East River. A second level for the Brooklyn Bridge was suggested but thought too heavy. The Williamsburg Bridge opened in 1903, connecting Williamsburg, Brooklyn to the Lower East Side of Manhattan. This was followed by the Queensboro Bridge in 1909 and the Manhattan Bridge in 1909. Subways, railroads, and road tunnels were also built.

1910s to 1940s

Tolls were removed in 1911. In 1915, the city officially named it the “Brooklyn Bridge.” In 1922, cars were banned to reduce traffic on city streets, but the real reason was that two cables slipped from heavy traffic. Calls were made to renovate the bridge or build a new one. Cars were allowed again in 1925.

The city celebrated the bridge’s 50th anniversary in 1933. By then, Manhattan had many new crossings to New Jersey and Long Island. In 1934, vaults under the approaches were leased out. In 1939, a plan was made to add ramps from the bridge to South Street in Manhattan.

In 1941, plans were made to remove train stations and upgrade the Manhattan approach. Train service ended in 1944, and the stations were removed. Between 1946 and 1947, traffic was switched to test the bridge.

Mid- to late 20th century

Upgrades

Major upgrades began in 1948 to rebuild the approach ramps. The work was expected to cost $7 million and double the bridge’s capacity. The project removed train and trolley tracks, widened the roadways, and added new ramps. The bridge was closed for the first time in January 1950. One roadway was closed at a time during construction.

The south roadway was finished in May 1951, and the north roadway in October 1953. The project ended in May 1954 with the promenade. A fallout shelter was built under the Manhattan approach for nuclear attacks. Defensive barriers were added to prevent sabotage.

At the same time, a double-decked road was built near the Brooklyn approach. The Adams Street approach in Brooklyn was widened between 1954 and 1955. The towers were cleaned in 1958, and the Brooklyn anchorage was repaired in 1959.

In 1953, the city approved rebuilding the Manhattan entrance plaza but it would remove many buildings and move families. Work started in 1956 and took two years. Plans were made to add ramps to the FDR Drive. The ramp from the drive to the bridge opened in 1968, and the ramp from the bridge to the drive opened in 1969. A ramp to Park Row opened in 1970. The bridge was repainted two years later.

Deterioration and late-20th century repair

The bridge got worse with age and lack of care. By the late 20th century, there were only five full-time maintenance workers. In 1974, big vehicles were banned to protect the roadway. In 1978, The New York Times said the cables were fraying and the walk had holes. Plans began to replace the cables at a cost of $115 million. By 1980, the bridge was close to closing because parts of the cables were broken.

In June 1981, two cables came loose and hurt a person. Rust was found in the anchorages, and more repairs were needed. The city sped up its $153 million plan to fix the bridge before its 100th birthday. In 1986, the old suspender cables were replaced by Bethlehem Steel. The Washington Street stairs were updated, and ramps replaced steps. The bridge was lit at night starting in 1982.

More problems continued. In 1993, high levels of lead were found near the towers. In 1999, small pieces of concrete fell from the bridge. After the September 11 attacks in 2001, a road was closed for safety. In 2003, night lights were turned off to save money but turned back on after donations.

21st century

Before renovation in 2004

Renovation in progress

After renovation in 2022

After the 2007 bridge collapse in Minneapolis, there was concern about U.S. bridges. In 2007, the Brooklyn Bridge approaches were rated “poor,” but a city official said it just meant they needed work. In 2010, work began on the approaches and deck, and repainting the span. The project was to finish in 2014 but was delayed to 2015, then 2017. The cost rose from $508 million in 2010 to $811 million in 2016.

In August 2016, a study was planned to see if the bridge could support a heavier top level with more space for bikes and walking. Work on the Brooklyn side walking entrance began in 2017. In 2016, plans were to strengthen the bridge’s foundations and fix damage from Hurricane Sandy. In July 2018, approval was given for more work on the towers and approaches. In December 2018, $25 million was given to help pay for a $337 million renovation. Work started in late 2019 and was to take four years. This included cleaning the granite arches to show their original color and adding 56 LED lights at a cost of $2.4 million.

In early 2020, a contest was held to redesign the walkway. A protected bike path was finished on the Manhattan-bound roadway in 2021. In January 2024, vendors were banned from the bridge, and new LED lights were turned on. After the Francis Scott Key Bridge collapse in 2025, a safety check was recommended.

Usage

The Brooklyn Bridge has been used for many kinds of traffic since it opened. Horse-drawn carriages were allowed from the start. At first, each roadway had two very narrow lanes.

In July 1922, cars were not allowed on the bridge, but this rule changed in May 1925.

After 1950, the main roadway had six lanes for cars, with three in each direction. Because of height and weight limits, big trucks and buses were not allowed. In January 2021, the city added a protected bike path on one side of the bridge, which replaced one car lane. This gave pedestrians their own space on the bridge.

The Brooklyn Bridge also used to have rail traffic. Cable cars and elevated trains ran on the bridge until 1944, and trolleys until 1950.

The Brooklyn Bridge has a special walkway in the middle, 18 feet above the car lanes. This path is usually between 10 and 17 feet wide. The walkway has separate areas for pedestrians and cyclists. In 2021, one car lane was turned into an extra bike path.

People have used the walkway when other ways to cross the river were not working, like during transit strikes or power outages. Mayors have walked across the bridge to show support during these times.

BoroughLocationmikmDestinations
BrooklynBrooklyn Heights0.00.0Tillary Street / Adams Street south
0.40.64
I-278 east (Brooklyn–Queens Expressway)

Cadman Plaza West to I-278 (Brooklyn–Queens Expressway)
East River0.7–
1.0
1.1–
1.6
Suspension span
ManhattanFinancial District1.21.9Park Row north
1.32.1 FDR Drive / Pearl Street
1.42.3Park Row south
1.52.4
Chambers Street / Centre Street to NY 9A (West Street) / Church Street
1.000 mi = 1.609 km; 1.000 km = 0.621 mi
      Closed/former
      Incomplete access

Tolls

Further information: Congestion pricing in New York City § Tolls

The Brooklyn Bridge started as a toll bridge, meaning people in carriages and on cable cars had to pay to cross. Pedestrians didn’t pay at first, but they began paying too by the early 1900s. In July 1911, all tolls on the four East River bridges—including the Brooklyn Bridge, Manhattan, Williamsburg, and Queensboro bridges—were removed under a new city policy.

Later, in the early 1970s, there was a plan to bring back tolls on these bridges to help improve air quality and support public transport. However, this plan was stopped. In January 2025, a new system called congestion pricing began, charging drivers entering parts of Manhattan, though many drivers using the Brooklyn Bridge are exempt depending on their route.

Notable events

Stunts

The Brooklyn Bridge has seen some daring stunts over the years. In 1919, a pilot flew a very large airplane under the bridge. In 1993, someone did eight bungee jumps near the bridge.

Crimes and terrorism

On March 1, 1994, a person hurt people on a van carrying students. One student passed away from injuries.

Several possible attacks were stopped before they could happen. In 1979, police found and disarmed explosives near the bridge. In 2003, plans to damage the bridge were stopped, and the person involved was punished.

Arrests

On May 19, 1977, a group of artists climbed the bridge’s towers as part of a performance, which caused traffic delays and led to their arrest. The charges were later dropped. On October 1, 2011, many people were arrested while protesting on the bridge. Most of these cases were later dismissed.

On July 22, 2014, the American flags on the bridge’s towers were replaced with white flags. Two artists later admitted to doing this to honor a person’s memory and to show appreciation for public spaces.

Anniversary celebrations

The 50th anniversary in 1933 included airplane shows, ships, and fireworks. The 100th anniversary in 1983 featured parades, ships in the harbor, and a fireworks show. The 125th anniversary in 2008 had a five-day celebration with music, special lighting, fireworks, films, tours, and more. An artist also set up a video link connecting the Brooklyn Bridge to London’s Tower Bridge.

Collisions

See also: Cuauhtémoc Brooklyn Bridge collision

Ships have hit the Brooklyn Bridge many times. In 1921 and 1935, ship masts struck the bridge. In 1986, a ship’s radar was damaged when it hit a net under the bridge.

On May 17, 2025, the masts of a ship struck the bridge. Sadly, two people were killed and 19 were injured, but the bridge itself was not damaged.

Impact

When the Brooklyn Bridge was built, people were amazed at what technology could achieve. The bridge became a symbol of hope and progress during that time.

The Brooklyn Bridge has been recognized for its importance. It became a National Historic Landmark in 1964 and was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1966. It is also a New York City designated landmark and was named a National Historic Civil Engineering Landmark in 1972.

The bridge has appeared in many books, poems, movies, and TV shows. It is often shown in views of New York City's skyline.

People sometimes attach locks to the bridge to show their love, though this is not allowed. The city has to remove these locks regularly.

Images

A beautiful historical illustration of the Brooklyn Bridge in New York City, showing its impressive design and structure.
A scenic view of the Dumbo neighborhood in Brooklyn, New York City.
The Brooklyn Bridge, a famous landmark in New York City, connecting Manhattan and Brooklyn.
A view looking up at the towering structure of the Brooklyn Bridge in New York City.
Historical blueprint of one tower of the Brooklyn Bridge, designed in 1867.
A colorful 1870s illustration of the Brooklyn Bridge connecting New York and Brooklyn.
Historical diagram showing the caisson used in the building of the Brooklyn Bridge.
Historical view of Manhattan from 1876 showing the Brooklyn Bridge under construction
Historical view of the Brooklyn Bridge construction in 1877, showing early bridge development
A beautiful view of New York City from the Manhattan Bridge, showing the skyline and clouds in a clear blue sky.
Historical illustration of the construction of the Brooklyn Bridge in New York City from 1883.
The view of Brooklyn Bridge from Manhattan

Related articles

This article is a child-friendly adaptation of the Wikipedia article on Brooklyn Bridge, available under CC BY-SA 4.0.

Images from Wikimedia Commons. Tap any image to view credits and license.